books · contemporary · contemporaryromance

ARC Review: Until Friday Night (The Field Party #1) by Abbi Glines

22522202Until Friday Night by Abbi Glines

The Field Party, #1

Simon Pulse

Release Date: August 25, 2015 

5 out 5 Stars


Amazon / Barnes&Noble / Book Depository


To everyone who knows him, West Ashby has always been that guy: the cocky, popular, way-too-handsome-for-his-own-good football god who led Lawton High to the state championships. But while West may be Big Man on Campus on the outside, on the inside he’s battling the grief that comes with watching his father slowly die of cancer.

Two years ago, Maggie Carleton’s life fell apart when her father murdered her mother. And after she told the police what happened, she stopped speaking and hasn’t spoken since. Even the move to Lawton, Alabama, couldn’t draw Maggie back out. So she stayed quiet, keeping her sorrow and her fractured heart hidden away.

As West’s pain becomes too much to handle, he knows he needs to talk to someone about his father—so in the dark shadows of a post-game party, he opens up to the one girl who he knows won’t tell anyone else.

West expected that talking about his dad would bring some relief, or at least a flood of emotions he couldn’t control. But he never expected the quiet new girl to reply, to reveal a pain even deeper than his own—or for them to form a connection so strong that he couldn’t ever let her go…



I would like to thank the publisher for providing me with an ARC of Until Friday Night for review.

Abbi did not disappoint with this first book in a new series. Until Friday Night was emotional, heartbreaking and healing. The characters where so accurate to how a teen dealing with these traumatic issues would most likely behave. Abbi perfectly portrayed how they are teens still learning how to become mature adults and aren’t there yet, they are going to stumble many times to get there especially if they are going through something they feel unprepared to handle. I loved the portrayal, it was accurate.

Maggie has gone through something very traumatic and doesn’t want to talk to anybody about it, she has become mute. She is now moving in with her Aunt, Uncle and cousin Brady. Her family has been torn apart and she has a long way to go before she can piece herself back together and heal. She feels the only way to deal with the pain she has experienced is to not talk to anyone then she doesn’t have to talk about what has happened. It is how Maggie has coped.

West is Brady’s best friend, he is on the football team, and he is popular. West has a deserved reputation with the ladies. He doesn’t want anything serious, he is dealing with so much in his life that he looks at girls as a way to numb the pain, and not think for awhile. He doesn’t want anyone including his friends to see what he is really dealing with or the real him. West doesn’t feel like a good person or like he can deal with more in his life.

West and all the other boys in school think Maggie is hot, but Brady has warned them she is off limits. West and Nash both have a hard time listening to Brady. Maggie just wants not to feel lonely and doesn’t want Brady to hate her, by disrupting his life.

One night West decides to stop fighting his silence about what is going on in his life. He talks to the one person he knows won’t tell anyone else, Maggie. He knows Maggie has been through something bad too, but he wants her to open up. Soon Maggie gives him what he needs, and he learns the truth about her experiences. They share a strong bond and West is determined to not lose this friendship.

Can Maggie and West remain friends with all these secrets? Will stronger feelings develop and rip them apart? Can they really trust each other to keep their secrets? You have to read this book to find out.

I absolutely loved this emotional, fun, and romantic novel. I cannot wait to continue the series and see what other characters are dealing with, especially the cousin and best-friend Brady. I am giving this book 5 out of 5 stars.

Check Out Abbi Glines Playlist for
Until Friday Night


Abbi GlinesAbout this author
Abbi Glines is a #1 New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of the Rosemary Beach, Sea Breeze, Vincent Boys, and Existence series. She has a new YA series coming out in the fall of 2015 titled The Field Party Series . She never cooks unless baking during the Christmas holiday counts. She believes in ghosts and has a habit of asking people if their house is haunted before she goes in it. She drinks afternoon tea because she wants to be British but alas she was born in Alabama. When asked how many books she has written she has to stop and count on her fingers. When she’s not locked away writing, she is reading, shopping (major shoe and purse addiction), sneaking off to the movies alone, and listening to the drama in her teenagers lives while making mental notes on the good stuff to use later. Don’t judge.

Website / Newsletter / Twitter / Facebook / The Field Party Website

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s