books

Blog Tour: The Keeper of the Mist by Rachel Neumeier with Review, Favorite Quotes & #Giveaway

 Check out some of my Favorite Quotes, Review for The Keeper of the Mist, and the Giveaway at the bottom of this post.

The Keeper of the Mist by Rachel Neumeier
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Release Date: March 8th 2016

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fiction

Rate: 4.5 Stars

Synopsis:

A lush new fantasy about finding the will to lead against all odds, perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone.

Keri has been struggling to run her family bakery since her mother passed away. Now the father she barely knew—the Lord of Nimmira—has died, and ancient magic has decreed that she will take his place as the new Lady. The position has never been so dangerous: the mists that hide Nimmira from its vicious, land-hungry neighbors have failed, and Keri’s people are visible to strangers for the first time since the mists were put in place generations ago. At the same time, three half-brothers will their own eyes on the crown make life within the House just as dangerous as the world outside.

But Keri has three people to guide her: her mysterious Timekeeper, clever Bookkeeper, and steadfast Doorkeeper. Together they must find a way to repair the boundary before her neighbors realize just how vulnerable Nimmira is

With a spunky main character, lyrical storytelling, and hidden romance, The Keeper of the Mist is an engrossing story that is full of adventure.

I would like to thank the publisher for providing me with an advance copy of The Keeper of the Mist for an honest review.

The Keeper of the Mist is a book with amazing world building, magic, and political intrigue. I loved the amazingly original story-line. I was drawn in right away by Keri, she has had to guard her emotions and I found her strong, and endearing.

The land is in trouble, and Keri is handed the responsibility of fixing it. She has the challenge of so many questioning her being the one chosen instead of her three older brothers to the successor.

The land’s mist that has hidden it and protected it from surrounding enemies is thinning. They find out that her father had made some bad decisions and they could cost their land and people.

Can Keri fix what her father did? Will her brothers support her as successor? Will she be betrayed and what could that cost them? You have to read this epic fantasy tale to find out.

I really enjoyed reading The Keeper of the Mist. I had heard there was no romance in this book and it made me apprehensive as to if I would enjoy it, since I usually have to have at least some romance, but I really felt it did not need it. The character interactions were amazing, there was humor, and banter, and I felt all the interactions were perfect for the ages represented. I liked the fact that Keri was strong and not focused on anything but what she needed to do to protect her land and people. This was a new responsibility and needed to be a primary focus at the time and she needed no other distractions. I loved that choice made by Rachel in this book. I am giving this book 4.5 out 5 stars and would definitely recommend it.

Favorite Quotes

Quote 1

“It’s going to be hard for people to accept me. Everyone will think Brann would be a better choice-or Domeric. Or even Lucas. Everyone would accept any of them much more easily! Everyone will be furious it’s me-“

Quote 2

“It was you hour and your time, Lady Kerianna. I could not possibly have been mistaken.”

Quote 3

“Without  the mist, I can’t close Nimmira against anyone, but least of all a Wyvern sorcerer!” 

Quote 4

“The choice is determined through some augury or divination, I presume,” Eroniel Kaskarian said politely. “Or through a magic that enters your ruling Lady through the land itself, so that the land itself decides where its magic will reside. This is indeed interesting. So different from those lands where men fight like animals for dominance. “

Quote 5

“Of course we can’t trust a word he says, but sometimes you can find out a lot even if a man is telling you pretty lies, I’m sure you know that, Keri.”

Quote 6

She walked behind Cort, and where she stepped, the mist rose up and spread out and thickened: not exactly mist, but the magic of misdirection on which Nimmira depended…

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg
Follow the The Keeper Of The Mist by Rachel Neumeier Blog Tour and don’t miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.
Rachel Neumeier started writing fiction to relax when she was a graduate student and needed a hobby unrelated to her research. Prior to selling her first fantasy novel, she had published only a few articles in venues such as The American Journal of Botany. However, finding that her interests did not lie in research, Rachel left academia and began to let her hobbies take over her life instead.
 

She now raises and shows dogs, gardens, cooks, and occasionally finds time to read. She works part-time for a tutoring program, though she tutors far more students in Math and Chemistry than in English Composition.

  Win (1) signed hardcopy of THE KEEPER OF THE MIST by Rachel Neumeier (US Only)
 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s