books

Blog Tour: 10 Things I Can See From Here by Carrie Mac ~ Review & #Giveaway

10-things-banner

This is an incredible book and I am so glad I am included on this tour! Check out my thoughts on 10 Things I Can See From Here and also go to the bottom of this post to get the full tour schedule and enter to win your own copy!

10-things-i-can-see-from-here10 Things I Can See From Here
by Carrie Mac
Published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Release Date: February 28, 2017

Rating: 4 Stars

Synopsis:

Think positive. Don’t worry, be happy. Keep calm and carry on. Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it were something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. When Maeve is sent to Vancouver to live with her dad, her very pregnant stepmom, and her twin six-year-old half brothers, she struggles to rise to the challenge.

Vancouver brings a wide array of new worries, but Maeve finds brief respite—as well as even more worries—in Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Though the summer includes  catastrophes than even Maeve could never have foreseen, she is able to reach inside herself to find the courage to be there for the ones she loves.

With an exciting love story and a raw, emotional core, 10 THINGS I CAN SEE FROM HERE is a poignant and uplifting novel perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Sophie Kinsella.

Book Links

 Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | IndieBound | Goodreads

Review

I would like to thank the publisher for providing me with an advance copy of 10 Things I Can See From Here for an honest review.

10 Things I Can See From Here is a book I connected with from the very first page. I may not have anxiety to the same level as Maeve but I have struggled with severe anxiety and depression for most of my life. This book had so many connecting thoughts and feeling that I could relate to. I think this book is so great to help others to see the struggles of those who deal with anxiety and also for those who have anxiety to see others struggle and have the same thoughts and feelings.

The relationship between Salix and Maeve was a highlight in the story. I loved their connection and acceptance of each other. I liked that they seemed to be complete opposites, Salix is relaxed and chill and Maeve is worried and thinks the worst. They balanced each other.

Maeve’s dad has a substance abuse issue and it causes issues in  the family. Her step mom really does try to be a loving supportive role through all the issues they are dealing with.

Can Maeve sustain a relationship with her anxiety and will they accept her for who she is? Will Maeve’s dad get the help he needs?

I really enjoyed 10 Things I Can See From Here. It was a fast read, that made me laugh and think wow I like this girl so much because she has thoughts like me. I did like certain characters more than others but I liked more of them then I disliked. I would definitely recommend this book and I am giving 4 out 5 stars.

“With Maeve, Mac delivers a character who’s heartwarmingly real and sympathetic, and her story provides a much-needed mirror for anxious queer girls everywhere.”—Kirkus, Starred review

“This is a good companion book for other anxiety-riddled stories, such as The Shattering by Karen Healey and Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella.”—Booklist

“Mac is good at showing how a dread-filled mind works. . . . [An] affecting story.”—Publishers Weekly

carrie-macABOUT AUTHOR:

CARRIE MAC is an award-winning Canadian novelist making her US debut. She lives in East Vancouver, where this story takes place. Check out her website at Carriemac.com and follow her on Twitter at @CarrieMacWrites.

Follow or Contact: Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

Make sure to check out the rest of the tour!

Tour Schedule

February 20 – Butter My Books

February 21 – The Compulsive Reader

February 22 – Take Me Away to A Great Read

February 23 – The Mod Podge Bookshelf

February 24 – Bookhounds YA

February 27th – Nick and Nereyda’s Infinite Booklist

                            Adventures in YA Publishing

February 28th – Ramblings of the Perpetual New Girl

March 1st – Readers in Wonderland

March 2nd – YA Wednesdays

March 3rd – Here’s to Happy Endings

March 4thAdventures in YA Publishing

March 6th – No More Grumpy Bookseller

March 7th – A Midsummer Night’s Read

March 8th – Rainy Day Coffee and Books

March 9th – The Fandom

March 10th – Picture Books to YA and Everything in Be”Tween”

March 13th – Bookworm Everlasting

March 14th – The Moral of Our Stories

March 15- Fangirlish

March 16- The Young Folks

March 17- Fiktshun

March 20-YA Books Central

March 21- Xpresso Reads

March 22- A Dream Within A Dream

Giveaway

(1) Winner – Copy of 10 Things I Can See From Here

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Provided by Publisher

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour: 10 Things I Can See From Here by Carrie Mac ~ Review & #Giveaway

  1. My favorite diverse books are The Best Man, the Fletcher Family books, and I’ll Give You the Sun. I’m looking forward to reading We Are Okay, Allegedly, and Goodbye Days.

    Like

  2. I have a lot of favorite diverse books, including Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel. As far as diverse books I’m looking forward to? Definitely Goodbye Days and It’s Not Like It’s a Secret.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s