books · contemporary · LittleBrown · mystery · paranormal · ScienceFiction · SciFi · ya · Youngadult

Blog Tour: The Hearts We Sold by Emily Lloyd-Jones – Review & #Giveaway

THE HEARTS WE SOLD

Thank you RockStar Book Tour for putting this great tour together. I am so happy to bring you today’s post. Check out my review and go to the bottom and enter to win 1 of 3 copies. Make sure to check out the other great stops on the tour for more fun content.

26309792Title: THE HEARTS WE SOLD
Author: Emily Lloyd-Jones
Pub. Date: August 8, 2017
Publisher:  Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 400
Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Find it: AmazonB&NTBDGoodreads

Rating: 4 Stars

Synopsis:

When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon—her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life—she finds the trade may have been more than she bargained for. And becoming “heartless” is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she could have ever imagined.


With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something grows between them amid an otherworldy ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: Can she give someone her heart when it’s no longer hers to give?

In THE HEARTS WE SOLD, author Lloyd-Jones returns with a complex, thought-provoking Faustian tale for the modern age that will capture your heart. With horror elements and fantasy elements set in a recognizable, semirealistic world, THE HEARTS WE SOLD is a great fit for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black. The book also

features a diverse breadth of topics, ranging from sexuality, transgender transitions, race, and familial abuse.

“Readers will devour this romantic, Faustian fable. A dark fantasy brimming with passion and peril.” –Kirkus Reviews

Morgan’s Review

I would like to thank the publisher and ALA-MW for providing me with an advance copy of The Hearts We Sold for an honest review.

The Hearts We Sold is emotional, action-packed and mysterious! This has to be one of the most unique and intriguing books I have read in awhile, it definitely isn’t like anything I have read. You will get a moving story that has so much impact and then these cool scientific portholes called voids and technology, and then the paranormal elements. It really is a cool book.

So hear comes my breakdown on how that impacted my reading experience. Some may say this is a little contradictory, others will get where I am coming from. Ultimately, I loved that the book tied in so many genres into one book, for me it was the best of all these worlds I love. It is what made this book so unique, the mostly contemporary with touches of paranormal and sci-fi. This is what also made me struggle a little with it too. You take a few chapters to get adjusted to a style and genre and then when you did it shifted and it was adjusting all over gain. This kept me on my toes and just made this not as quick of a read for me but I still did really enjoy it. It was one you just have to get into a rhythm and know their will be shifts in.

Dee has a really hard home life. She has worked really hard to make it possible to go to school and not be home as much. She wants more for herself than the life her parents have built. When she realizes that there is no way to pay for school and she won’t be able to escape her life at home, Dee seeks desperate measures. What deal she makes she feels is for the best, even if others may not understand.

Demons have made themselves known to mankind. What they really are most don’t know and rumors among mankind continue. Some think that they are Aliens, Mythical Creatures or Gods. Dee decides to make a deal with one to give her heart up for two years in order to get the money she needs to pay for her schooling. For the next two years she has to work for the Demon, helping him close voids. The voids are like portholes that open up and can let things in from another place.

She works with James, Cal and Cora who have also sold something to this same demon. As Dee starts seeing more things on these missions, she starts having more questions. Her and James go to a library and do research. They realize these creatures may have been around doing this for longer than anyone knew. Fairy-tales, folk-tales, paintings may have been adapted from experiences years ago in having dealings with these creatures.

Can Dee escape her home life? What is the truth about the Demon’s origin and what are they fighting? Why are they bartering for human parts? You have to read to find out.

I am going to recommend The Hearts We Sold if you are looking to try something new or if you like a certain genre but want to read in a new one, this is a perfect way to dip your toe in the water. I am giving this book 4 out 5 stars.


authorphoto.pngAbout Emily:

Emily Lloyd-Jones grew up on a vineyard in rural Oregon, where she played in evergreen forests and learned to fear sheep. After graduating from Western Oregon University with an English degree, she enrolled in the publishing program at Rosemont College just outside of Philadelphia. She currently resides in Northern California, working in a bookstore by day and writing by night. Illusive is her debut novel.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads


Giveaway Details:

(3) winners will receive a finished copy of THE HEARTS WE SOLD, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

Week One:

8/7/2017- Owl Always Be Reading– Excerpt

8/8/2017- When Books Defy Gravity– Review

8/9/2017- YA Books Central– Interview

8/10/2017- Take Me Away To A Great Read– Review

8/11/2017- Angelic Book Reviews– Interview

Week Two:

8/14/2017- The Layaway Dragon– Review

8/15/2017- Two Chicks on Books– Guest Post

8/16/2017- Book Briefs– Review

8/17/2017- Adventures of a Book Junkie– Interview

8/18/2017- Stories & Sweeties– Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s